Setting of Objectives

On the occasion of a Mediterranean Congress for Angiology 1979 at the island of Kos Gerhard Flora, Michael E. DeBakey und Roger Greenhalgh decided to inaugurate a comparable event with a likewise Alpine character.

The first International Vascular Workshop (IVW) was organized by Gerhard Flora 1980 in Obergurgl, followed by yearly workshops in Tyrol, South-Tyrol and Vorarlberg; 1999 the 20th jubilee could be celebrated in Obergurgl. In 1995 Gerhard Flora was elected Honorary president, and in 1997 his successor Gustav Fraedrich took upon the organisation.

The objective of the IVW to combine scientific exchange as well as sportive activities and a familiar atmosphere could be attained; in the meantime more than 250 active participants can be registrated. The Honorary President`s Cup ist allocated yearly to a younger colleague for the best scientific and sportive performance.

The intention of Gehard Flora was to bring together vascular disciplines in an atmosphere of friendship has been successful and the IVW is meanwhile widely accepted by vascular surgeons, angiologist and radiologists.